CASE Social Entrepreneurship Awards

One way in which CASE helps to build the field of social entrepreneurship is by recognizing and building awareness of outstanding social entrepreneurs. We have previously offered two awards – the Leadership Award that recognizes individuals that have helped transform the field and the Enterprising Social Innovation award that recognizes organizations using innovative solutions will the potential for large-scale impact.

CASE Leadership in Social Entrepreneurship Award

Each year CASE recognizes an individual who has made significant contributions to the field of social entrepreneurship. These honorees may be social entrepreneurs, philanthropists, researchers, writers, or academics whose work has had transformative impact by encouraging or demonstrating innovation and promoting effectiveness within the social sector.

2013 Winner

Greg Dees

Founder, CASE

Greg Dees helped show how the theory and practice of entrepreneurship and innovation could be blended with social missions to tackle poverty, pollution and other global challenges in new, high-impact ways.

Read More

2012 Winner

Martin Fisher

Co-founder and CEO, KickStart International

Read More

2011 Winner

Antony Bugg-Levine

CEO, Nonprofit Finance Fund

Read More

2010 Winner

Vanessa Kirsch

Founder and CEO, New Profit Inc.

Read More

2009 Winner

Jacqueline Novogratz

Founder and CEO, Acumen

Read More

2008 Winner

David Bornstein

Journalist and Author

Read More

2007 Winner

Bill Drayton

CEO and Founder, Ashoka

Read More

2006 Winner

Ami Dar

Founder and Executive Director, Idealist

Read More

2005 Winner

Wendy Kopp

CEO and Co-founder, Teach for All

Read More

2004 Winner

Muhammad Yunus

Chairman, Yunus Centre

Read More

2003 Winner

William E. (Bill) Strickland, Jr.

President and CEO, Manchester Bidwell Corporation

Read More

CASE Enterprising Social Innovation Award

Each year CASE recognizes an individual, organization, or company whose innovative work has the potential for large-scale impact and sustainable social value. These honorees possess the entrepreneurial traits of creativity, commitment, resilience, and a results-focused drive to create impact and are endeavoring to achieve more effective, sustainable, and scalable impact. We hope through the ESI Award, we can raise awareness of their work and celebrate their pioneering new approaches which challenge the status quo.

2014 ESI Winner

Living Goods

Living Goods is a fantastic social venture that empowers the poor in Africa through networks of ‘Avon-like’ micro-entrepreneurs who go door-to-door teaching families how to improve their health and wealth while selling a broad assortment of affordable, life-changing products.

Read More

2013 ESI Winner

Riders for Health

Read More

2012 ESI Winner


Read More

2011 ESI Winner


Read More

2010 ESI Winner


Read More

2009 ESI Winner


Read More
View All Award Recipients