COLE Leadership Fellows

Established in 2003, the COLE Leadership Fellows program engages a select group of Fuqua Second Year Daytime MBA students as stewards of the Fuqua leadership culture, committed to the development of fellow students and future Duke MBA graduates who exemplify the highest qualities of competence and character, who are global leaders characterized by self-awareness, ethical and moral sensitivity, integrity and personal courage.

Each year, 40+ Second Year MBA fellows, are selected through a competitive, rigorous and well-documented vetting process, involving both an application and interview, receive training and apply their leadership skills in serving as peer facilitator and leadership coaches and mentors to all incoming First Year students and their teams. They play a key role in building and representing the leader of consequence culture at Fuqua.

COLE Leadership Fellows (CLF) prepare Fuqua students for successful leadership by:

  • Inspiring First-Year students in engaging in a transformational graduate experience through creating, owning and being accountable for an intentional personal development journey as leaders of consequence
  • Equipping First-Year teams to develop collaborative leadership knowledge, skills, and abilities, and maximizing their capacity to effectively follow and lead in a team context
  • Collaborating with other student organizations and leadership partners to strengthen a leadership-centered culture and curriculum in Fuqua
  • Modeling the values, principles and beliefs of a leader of competence, character, courage and consequence guided by a firm ethical/moral compass

In addition, they design and lead various initiatives for the Daytime MBA students. For example: Leadership Engagement and Discussion Series (LEADS), Leadership Cohort Experience, First and Second Year Daytime MBA Capstone Experiences.

Application and selection process for the COLE Leadership Fellows Program begins in January of every year.

2016-2017 COLE Leadership Fellows

Kelsey Anderson Michael Balestrino Dennis Bartlett
Nandita Beri Derrick Bessaoud Owen Boyce
Matt Conley Aditya Dave Leah DeCosta
Deepthi Desai Julio Fu Kevin Gannon
Madison Gilbert Daniel Goltz David Gross
Kasey Haas Elizabeth Hawkins John Huisman
Anant Johri Noelle Kelly Evelyn Kim
James Kozlow Ann Mills Lassiter Bill Li
Matthew Lowell Monica Madrid Aiyappa Maruvanda
Sam Matias Laura McCarthy Jennifer Miller
Kellie Munoz Geoff Parrish Matt Phelps
Sam Pierce Alejandra Rossi Libby Rybacki
Agustin Sanchez Bilal Shaikh Scott Sheu
Natalie Suarez Matthew Thacker Emily Thompson
Nick Williams Max Zamor